Main Menu
 
                Other Menu

Academic faculty

Academic Faculty

Name

Specialisation

E-mail Address

Academic Qualifications

Prof. Ravi S. Nanjundiah,
Director
Monsoon variability and predictability, HPC for climate and weather related studies
ravisn@tropmet.res.in  M.E., Ph.D.
Climate Modelling, Monsoon variability and predictability, Phenomenon of monsoon-breaks and droughts, Dynamics of monsoon and midlatitude interactions, Climate dynamics and modelling with special focus on the Asian monsoon coupled atmosphere-ocean-land system, Large-scale organization of convection over the tropics and monsoon region
M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. G. Beig
Atmospheric Chemistry, Ozone Pollution, Greenhouse Gases-3D Chemical – Climate Modelling
beig@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
Climate Variability and Predictability
sahai@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., Ph.D.
Coupled Ocean-Atmosphere Dynamics, Climate Variability and Prediction, Physical Oceanography, Ocean Modelling and Coupled Climate Modelling, Air-Sea interactions in the Indian Ocean
surya@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., M.Tech., Ph.D.
Dr. C. Gnanaseelan Ocean Modelling and Data Assimilation seelan@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M.Tech., Ph.D.
Dr. S. D. Pawar
Atmospheric Electricity, Aerosol Physics
pawar@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., Ph.D.
Boundary Layer Meteorology; Boundary layer and canopy turbulence
simulation
 thara@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., M.Tech.,  Ph.D.
Study of past climate using the chemical and isotpic tracers in natural archives, such as tree ring, corals, terrestrial and marine sediments
supriyo@tropmet.res.in
supriyoc@gmail.com
M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. D.M. Chate Air Pollution Studies  chate@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. G. Pandithurai  Atmospheric Aerosols and Remote Sensing  pandit@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., PGDCA, Ph.D.
Monsoon Variability and Teleconnections
ashwini@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., Ph.D.(Stats)
Dr. Kaushar  Ali
 Cloud Physics and Radar Meteorology, Air Pollution Studies
 kaushar@tropmet.res.in
 M.Sc. (Tech.), Ph.D.
Dr. B.S. Murthy Theoretical and Experimental Studies of Atmospheric Boundary Layer murthy@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. Anupam Hazra Cloud microphysics, Ice nucleation parameterization, Ice nucleation of Biological, Anthropogenic and mineral dust aerosols, Aerosol-cloud interactions, Meso-scale modelling and Global climate modelling, Aerosol scavenging, Weather modification   hazra@tropmet.res.in  M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. J. Sanjay
Numerical Weather Prediction with Special Emphasis to Mesoscale Modelling and Boundary Layer Processes
sanjay@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. P.D. Safai
Atmospheric Aerosols and Precipitation Chemistry 
pdsafai@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
Shri V. Gopalkrishnan  Cloud Physics, Atmospheric Electricity  gopal@tropmet.res.in  
M.Sc.
Dr. Suresh Tiwari Air Pollution, Precipitation Chemistry smbtiwari@yahoo.co.uk M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr.(Smt). S.S.Fadnavis Atmospheric Chemistry, Ozone Pollution, Greenhouse Gases- 3-D Chemical-Climate Modelling suvarna@tropmet.res.in B.E., M. Tech., Ph.D.
Dr. P. Mukhopadhyay NWP and Meso-scale Modelling of Thunderstorms, Heavy Precipitation Events mpartha@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M.Tech., Ph.D.
Dr. Vinu Valsala pCO2, biogeochemical modelling and data assimilation, Planetary wave dynamics and associated particle/tracer trajectories/pathways, Application of tracer techniques to detect variability of ocean circulation, Climate variability of Indian-Pacific Oceans, Reduced gravity layered models, Quasi-geostrophic models, Ocean Tracer Transport Model (OTTM) Ocean General Circulation Models (OGCM), Indonesian Throughflow and climate variability, Numerical Ocean modelling and development valsala@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
Shri S. Mahapatra Numerical Weather Prediction, Regional and Mesoscale Modelling, Initialization Techniques mahap@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc. (Tech.),
M.Tech.
Dr. Ramesh Vellore Climate Change, Global and regional climate modeling, Dust storms and Aerosol Transport Modeling, Dynamical downscaling, Predictability and ensemble forecasting, Air-sea interaction rameshv@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M.Tech (Atm. Sc.), MS (Appl. Maths), MS(Atm. Phy.), Ph.D.
 Dr. H.S. Chaudhari  Climate Modelling, Weather Prediction with Spherical Geodesic Grids, Computational Aspects of Climate Models, Asian Monsoon and Climate Variability
 hemantkumar@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., M.Tech., Ph.D.
Dr. Devendraa Siingh Atmospheric Electricity, Global Electric circuit, sferic and whistlers, ELF/VLF emission in ionosphere/ magneto sphere, space weather devendraasiingh@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph. D.
Dr. Subodh K. Saha Land surface processes, atmosphere land-surface interaction and their influence on the Indian Monsoon subodh@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M.Tech., Ph.D.
Dr. (Smt) B. Padma Kumari Climate change,
Aerosol-cloud-radiation interactions,
Remote sensing of atmospheric aerosols, clouds and radiation
padma@tropmet.res.in M. Sc., M. Tech. Ph. D.
Dr. C. G. Deshpande
Aerosol Physics, Atmospheric Electricity cgdesh@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
 Shri P. Murugvel Atmospheric Electricity, Atmospheric Physics  pmvelu@tropmet.res.in  B.E., M.Tech.
Dr. Anoop Mahajan Atmospheric chemistry  anoop@tropmet.res.in M.Sc. (Env. Sc.), M.Sc.(Atm. Chem.), Ph.D.
Dr. Shivsai Dixit Fluid Dynamics, Turbulence, Boundary Layers, Cloud Flows, Laboratory Experiments and Numerical Simulations  sadixit@tropmet.res.in B.E.(Mech), M.E.(Aerosp. Engg.), Ph.D (Aerosp. Engg.)
Dr. M.N. Patil Land Surface-Atmosphere Interactions patil@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. (Smt). J.V. Revadekar Climate Change, Monsoon Variability and Prediction, Dendroclimatology, Climate Impact Studies  jvrch@tropmet.res.in B.Sc.(Maths, Phy., Stats),B.Sc.(Comp. Sc.), M.Sc.(Phy), Ph.D.(Atm. & Space Sc.)
Shri K.K. Dani Remote Sensing of Atmospheric Aerosols and Trace Gases  kundan@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.
Dr. R.S. Maheshkumar Remote Sensing of Atmospheric Aerosols and Trace Gases, Cloud Physics mahesh@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M.Tech., Ph.D.
Dr. S.D. Ghude Aerosol studies in relation to climate change, Trace gases measurement  sachinghude@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.,Ph.D.
Dr. (Smt.) S.K. Patwardhan
Climate Change, Monsoon Variability and Teleconnections
patwar@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr.(Smt.) N.R. Deshpande
Hydrometeorological Studies for Different River Basins and Regions
nrdesh@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.
Dr. T. Dharmaraj
Atmospheric Boundary-Layer, Instrumentation
dharam@tropmet.res.in
B.E., M.Tech., Ph.D.
Dr.(Smt.) S.B. Morwal Atmospheric Boundary Layer morwal@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. Y. Jaya Rao
Optical and Radio Remote Sensing of the Atmosphere
jrao@tropmet.res.in
 M.Sc., M.Tech., Ph.D.
Dr.(Smt). S.K. Mandke
Climate Modelling
amin@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M.Tech., Ph.D.
Shri S.D. Bansod
Monsoon Variability and Teleconnection
erp@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc.
Dr. G.S. Meena
Atmospheric Minor Constituents
gsm@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. Milind Mujumdar
Climate Modelling
mujum@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc.,M.Phil.,Ph.D.
Dr.(Kum.)S.S.Nandargi Hydrometeorological Studies for different River Basins and Regions nshobha@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
Smt. Shompa Das  Information resource management and services shompa@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M. Lib. Sc.
Dr.(Smt.) A.A. Deo
Application of Ocean modeling, Studies of Upper Oceanic Processes in Different Time and Space Scales
aad@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.
Dr. S.G. Narkhedkar
Objective Analysis, Including Satellite Data in Weather Forecasting
narkhed@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. (Smt). S. Joseph Interactions between intraseasonal and interannual variabilities of Indian summer monsoon susmitha@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. Sreenivas  Pentakota Physical Oceanography  sreenivas@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.
Dr. K.M.C. Reddy 
Remote sensing in Atmosphere/Meteorology, Cloud and Precipitation studies 
M.Sc.(Tech), Ph.D.
 Dr. S. Abhilash  Tropical Convective Systems, Cloud Resolving Modeling and Cloud- Environment Interactions  abhi@tropmet.res.in  M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr.(Smt.) P. Swapna Coupled Ocean-Atmospheric Dynamics, Ocean Modelling  swapna@tropmet.res.in  M.Tech., Ph.D.
Dr. Roxy Mathew Koll Ocean-atmospheric dynamics and interaction, Tropical intraseasonal variability, SST-convection feedback, Tropical Indo-Pacific Ocean and Asian Monsoon interrelationship, Coupled General Circulation - Earth System Modeling for climate variability predictions. 

roxy@tropmet.res.in,

rocksea@gmail.com

M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. Samir Pokherel
Rainfall retrieval, radiative transfer modelling
samir@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. A.B. Parekh Variability of Indian Ocean, Physics of Indian Ocean, Air-sea interaction, Ocean
Models Diagnoses study, Remote Sensing of Ocean 
 anant@tropmet.res.in  M.Sc, Ph.D.
Dr. Bipin Kumar Numerical Methods for modelling, Parallel Numerical Algorithms, Cloud Microphysics, Computational Fluid Dynamics (Multiphase Fluid Flows) , Code Optimizations, High Performance Computing, Model Development, Direct Numerical Simulations  bipin@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., MS(Research), PhD.
Dr. H. Varikoden Monsoon Boundary Layer, Monsoon Variability, Climate Change and its Dynamics hamzavarikoden@tropmet.res.in,
hamzavarikoden@gmail.com
 M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. S.M. Deshpande Radar Meteorology, Remote Sensing of Atmospheric Winds and Clouds  sachinmd@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M.Tech.,  Ph.D.
Dr. R.K. Yadav 
Seasonal Forecasting yadav@tropmet.res.in M.Sc. (Tech), Ph.D.
Dr. (Smt) Preethi Bhaskar
Monsoon Variability
preethi@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., M.Tech.
Shri Prem Singh
Ocean Modelling and Simulation Studies
psg@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., M.Phil.
Dr. (Smt.) Latha R. Atmospheric boundary layer dynamics and pollution latha@tropmet.res.in B.Tech., Ph.D. (Tech) 
Dr. K. Chakravarty Radar Meteorology, Remote Sensing, Satellite Communication  kaustav@tropmet.res.in, kaustav.chty@gmail.com  M.Sc., Ph.D
Shri. S. De Deterministic predictability in the perspective of nonlinear error characteristics study of a prognostic model in the medium range tropical weather forecast  sde@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M.Tech.
Dr. Y.K. Tiwari Greenhouse Gas Modelling and its measurement  yktiwari@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.(Tech.), Ph.D
Dr. Saikat Sengupta Study of hydrologic cycle using chemical and isotopic tracers in various natural water samples such as precipitation, vapour, ocean and snow  saikat@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M.Tech., Ph.D.
Dr. Subrato Kumar Das Laser Remote Sensing of Cirrus clouds and Aerosols Interaction, Radar and Satellite Meteorology techniques in cloud physics  subrata@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.(Phy), PGDBM, PGDCA, Ph.D. (Phy)
Dr. Jasti S. Chowdhary  Interannual and Decadal variability of the Indian Ocean climate,  Air-sea interactions over the Indo-western Pacific region, Variability and Predictability of the Asian summer monsoon  jasti@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M.Tech., Ph.D.
Dr. Deen Mani Lal
 Cloud Physics  dmlal@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., PGDCA, Ph.D.
Dr. P. R.C. Reddy Ocean Modelling Application of Satellite Data for Ocean Studies rahul@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M.Tech., Ph.D.
Dr. Prashant A. Pillai Diagnostic and modeling studies of Asian monsoon, ENSO-monsoon teleconnection, Asian monsoon and tropospheric biennial oscillation prasanth@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. Naveen Gandhi Paleoclimatology, Oxygen and carbon isotopic study of speleothem, Dendrochronology and tree-ring isotopic studies, Ocean Biogeochemistry: Nitrogen and carbon cycling in the oceans  naveen@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. Rajib Chattopadhyay Monsoon Seasonal Prediction, Monsoon Intraseasonal Prediction, Empirical techniques in statistical analysis rajib@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M.Tech.(Atm. Phy.), Ph.D.
Dr. Abhilash S. Panicker Aerosols-radiative and cloud interaction studies panicker@tropmet.res.in M.Tech., Ph.D
Shri N.K. Agarwal
Atmospheric Energetics in Wavenumber Frequency Domain
nka@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., M.Phil., PGDCA
Shri S.S. Sabade Monsoon Variability and Tele connections sabade@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.
Shri D.K. Trivedi
Numerical Weather Prediction, Tropical Cyclone Modelling
trivedi@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc.
Shri S.B. Kakade Monsoon Variability and Prediction with NAO and ENSO kakade@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.
Shri Abhay S. D. Rajput Science Communication/ popularization, Media/Information Management, Technical writing abhaysdr@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.
Shri M.Mahakur Satellite Meteorology and Aplications of Satellite Data inWeather Forecasting mmahakur@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M.Tech., P.G. Dip in Satmet and Global Climate, LL.B
Smt. M.N. Kulkarni
Atmospheric Electricity
mnkulk@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.
Smt. R.V. Bhalvankar Simulation techniques in cloud physics rohini@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.
Dr. A. K. Srivastava Remote Sensing and Modelling Studies of Atmospheric Aerosols and Clouds atul@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.(Tech.), Ph.D
Dr. Phani M. Krishna Numerical Modelling, High Performance Computing, Climate Modelling  rphani@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.
Shri T.P. Sabin SST and its impact on deep convection in the tropics, Intraseasonal variability of Indian summer monsoon sabin@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.
Dr. (Smt.) A.A. Prabhu Satellite Data Applications for Weather Forecasting amitaprabhu@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
 Shri M.I.R. Tinmaker  Physics of Lightning  iqbal@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
 Dr. (Smt.) M.S. Deshpande  Numerical Modeling of Tropical Cyclones and Monsoon Cloud Parameterization in numerical models  medha_d@tropmet.res.in  M.Sc., M.Phil. Ph.D.
Dr. K.P. Sooraj Climate change and the behaviour of Asian summer monsoon, ENSO–monsoon teleconnection aspects, Seasonal prediction of the Tropical climate, Monsoon Intraseasonal variability, Summer monsoon onset mechanisms  sooraj@tropmet.res.in  M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. M. Konwar Cloud and Rain Microphysics, Soft Computation mkonwar@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
Shri Siddharth Kumar Cloud Physics siddharth.cat@tropmet.res.in B.Tech. (Mech.), M.Tech. (Climate Sc.)
Shri S. M. Sonbawne Aerosol Study through observative programmme, Remote Sensing Studies sunil@tropmet.res.in B.E.(Instru.), M.Tech.(Atm. Sc.)
Smt. Sompriti Deb Roy Atmospheric Chemistry, Ozone Pollution, Greenhouse Gases-3-D Chemical-Climate Modelling sompriti@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., ADCA
Dr. H.N. Singh
Application of RS-GIS in Hydrometeorological Studies
narendra@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc., M.Tech., P.G. Dip in Satmet and Global Climate, Ph.D.
Smt. Anika Arora Tropical variability and Ocean-atmosphere feedbacks  anika.cat@tropmet.res.in  M.Sc., M.Tech (Climate Sc.)
Shri S.P. Ghanekar
Studies of Monsoons and Tropical Weather Systems
ghanekar@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc.
Smt. Ayantika Dey Choudhury Large-scale dynamics and organization of convective systems over Asian monsoon region  ayantika@tropmet.res.in M.Tech (Atmo. Phy.)
Shri G.R. Chintalu
 
Air sea interaction studies in tropical monsoons & Atmospheric boundary layer process studies over land and ocean chintalu@tropmet.res.in M.Sc. 
Shri Somaru Ram
Long-term Climate Variability Over Monsoon Asia, Dendroclimatology, Palaeoclimatology somaru@tropmet.res.in
 M.Sc. (Tech.)
Shri Bhupendra Bahadur Singh Climate change, Monsoon variability, Earth system science, Physical Oceanography  bhupendra.cat@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.(Tech.) 
Shri Balaji B. Dynamics and Thermodynamics of Monsoon, Remote Sensing balaji.cat@tropmet.res.in B.Tech, M.Tech
Smt. Mercy Varghese Aerosols and CCN,  Aerosol-cloud interaction  mercy.cat@tropmet.res.in B.Tech, M.Tech
Smt. Asha Nath
Atmospheric Electricity
asha@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.
Shri M.D. Chipade Climate Change, Monsoon Variability, Teleconnections and Prediction, Energetics of Tropospheric Zonal Waves and Indian Monsoon mdchipade@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.
Shri S.K. Saha
Optical Remote sensing of Atmospheric Aerosols and Trace Gases, Aerosol- Climate Interactions 
saha@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.
Dr. (Smt.). P.P. Leena Atmospheric Aerosols, aerosol-cloud interaction and Remote Sensing leena@tropmet.res.in M.Sc., Ph.D.
Shri A.R. Dandi Monsoon studies daramu@tropmet.res.in, ramud82@gmail.com
 M.Sc., M.Tech.
Smt.Renu S.Das Atmospheric Dynamics, Modelling and Simulation Techniques  renu@tropmet.res.in  M.Sc., M.Tech(Modelling & Simulation)
Shri Subharthi Chowdhuri
Boundary Layer Meteorology  subharthi.cat@tropmet.res.in  B.E. (Mech.)
Smt. U.S. Iyer
Boundary Layer Meteorology and Air sea Interaction Process
usha@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.
Shri Prajeesh A.G.
Earth system modeling, Physical Oceanography
prajeesh.cat@tropmet.res.in prajeeshag@gmail.com
M.Sc (Oceanog.)
Shri Tanmoy Goswami
Ocean and Radiation modelling
tanmoy.cat@tropmet.res.in
M.Sc.
Shri Malay Ganai
Numerical modelling, Indian Summer monsoon, Diurnal variability of precipitation
malay.cat@tropmet.res.in 
M.Sc.
Shri Sudarsan Bera
Cloud Physics, Atmospheric aerosol, Aerosol-climate interaction sbera.cat@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.
Smt. Archana Rai
Land surface processes and its interaction with Monsoon, Monsoon and Surface temperature variability over Indian region
M.Sc.
Shri Vivek Singh      
Shri Sandeep Narayanasetti Earth System Modelling, Physical Oceanography sandeep.cat@tropmet.res.in M.Sc (Chemistry)
Shri M. Pradhan  Monsoon and its teleconnections, Ocean-Atmosphere coupling, Seasonal Prediction of monsoon  maheshwar.cat@tropmet.res.in  B.Tech. (Instru. & Electro.)
Shri Ankur Srivastava Climate variability and prediction, Intra-seasonal & synoptic variability, monsoons and its teleconnections ankur.cat@tropmet.res.in B.Tech.(E&I)
Shri M.S. Biswas Atmospheric Chemistry mriganka.cat@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.(Chemistry)
Kum. Snehlata Tirkey      
Smt.Rashmi A. Khandekar Ocean Modelling, Data Assimilation, Air-Sea Interaction rashmi.cat@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.(Maths), B.Ed.
Shri R. Mandal Monsoon variability and predictability  raju.cat@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.(Physics)
Shri Avijit Dey Intraseasonal variability and predictability avijit.cat@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.(Physics)
Kum. Chaitri Roy Atmospheric Chemistry, Climate change modelling chaitri.cat@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.(Chemistry)
Kum. Shikha Singh    shikha.cat@tropmet.res.in  
Shri S. Sarkar Intraseasonal Variability, Atmospheric dynamics and thermodynamics, Energetics of Indian Summer Monsoon, Numerical Modelling sahadat.cat@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.(Physics)
Kum. S. Malviya Intraseasonal variability and predictability, Dynamics of Madden Julian Oscillation, Ensemble Prediction System shilpa.cat@tropmet.res.in B.E.(E&TC)
Kum J.S. Deepa  Sea level variability  deepa.cat@tropmet.res.in  M.Sc.(Maths)
Kum. Aditi Modi Earth System Modeling, Ocean Biogeochemistry aditi.cat@tropmet.res.in B.Tech(Civil)
Shri Manmeet Singh  Climate Modelling  

manmeet.cat@tropmet.res.in

  B.E.(Civil)
Kum. Smrati Gupta Green house gases observation & modelling, DMS climatology smrati.cat@tropmet.res.in B.E.(E&I)
Shri Subrata Mukherjee Relation and effect of biogenic and anthropogenic Volatile organic compounds(VOCs) on aerosol(through Secondary organic aerosol formation) and its impact on new particle formation (NPF), Cloud condensation nuclei (CCN) activation and other cloud micro-physical processes subrata.cat@tropmet.res.in M.Sc.(Chem.)
Shri Pramit Kumar Deb  Burman    pramit.cat@tropmet.res.in  
Shri Sujit Maji    sujit.cat@tropmet.res.in  
Shri Ambuj Kumar Jha   ambuj.cat@tropmet.res.in