News Details

Awards to IITM employees

1. IMS Awards/Honors to IITM Scientists

  • Dr. R. Krishnan has been elected as Fellow of the Indian Meteorological Society.

  • Swapna P., Roxy M., Aparna K., Kulkarni K., Prajeesh A.G., Ashok K., Krishnan R., Moorthi S., Kumar A., Goswami B.N., "The IITM Earth System Model : Transformation of a Seasonal Prediction Model to a Long-Term Climate Model" , Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, 98, No.8 (DOI:10.1175/BAMS-D-13-00276.1), 1351-1367, 2015 has been adjudged the best paper for A.D. Vernekar Award on Modelling study on Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences by Indian Meteorological Society.

  • Kulkarni M.N. & Siingh D.K., “The atmospheric  electrical  index  for ENSO modoki:  Is  ENSO  modoki  one  of  the factors   responsible  for   the   warming   trend   slowdown, Nature   Scientific  Reports, 6, (DOI:10.1038/srep24009), 1-10, 2016",  has been adjudged the  best  paper  for Joint award  in  the  category  of  P Krishna  Rao Award on Application of Satellite data and Remote Sensing in Meteorology.

  • Amita Prabhu, R. H. Kripalani, Preethi Bhaskar and G. Pandithurai, “Potential role of the February-March Southern Annular Mode on the Indian summer monsoon rainfall: a new perspective", Climate Dynamics, 47 (DOI:10.1007/s00382-015-2894-5), 1161-1179, 2015, has been adjudged the best paper for J. Dasgupta Award on Atmospheric Observations and Technologies by Indian Meteorological Society.

Awards were presented to Dr. Krishnan, Dr. Swapna P., Mrs. M.N. Kulkarni, and Dr. Amita Prabhu   during inaugural session of INTROMET-2017 held in Ahmedabad on 7th November 2017.

2. Rajbhasha Karyanvayan Ratna Purskar to Hindi Officer, IITM

Dr. O.N.Shukla, Hindi Officer, IITM was honored by the ‘Rajbhasha Karyanvayan Ratna Purskar’ for his excellent contribution in the Official Language Implementation at the hands of honorable Dr. Prasanna Kumar Patasani, Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) and Member of Parliamentary Committee on Official Language, in the "All India Rajbhasha Hindi Conference and Workshop"  at Puri, Odissa during 12-14 October 2017.