News Details

IITM Foundation Day Celebration 2020

Institute celebrated it's 59th Foundation Day on 17 Nov 2020 through virtual mode in view of the prevailing Pandemic situation and austerity measures.

Dr. Shailesh Nayak, Director, National Institute of ­­­­­Advanced Studies NIAS, Bengaluru & Former Secretary, MoES was the Chief Guest of the foundation day function. 

View the detailed programme of the Day

On this occasion, Prof. Ravi S. Nanjundiah, Director, IITM briefed about the Institutes' achievements and activities during the year 2020.

Dr. Shailesh Nayak delivered the Foundation Day lecture on "Remote Sensing for National Development: The legacy of Dr. Vikram Sarabhai".

IITM Awards were announced by the Director, IITM.  Award Lectures were given by Dr. Partha Mukhopadhyay for Golden Jubilee Award, Dr. Deepa JS for Silver Jubilee Paper Award, Dr. G. Srinivas for Prof. Ananthakrishnan Award for Best Ph.D. Thesis and Dr. Sujith K. for Best Student Paper Award.

Dr. Suryachandra Rao, Sc-G & Project Director-Monsoon Mission, HPC & O&M presented the vote of thanks.

Following are the details of IITM Awards:

IITM Golden Jubilee Award 2019 to Dr Partha Mukhopadhyay.

IITM Annual Silver Jubilee Award for the best research paper published in peer reviewed journal for the year 2019 to the paper entitled, "The Tropical Indian Ocean decadal sea level response to the Pacific Decadal Oscillation forcing”, by J. S. Deepa, C. Gnanaseelan, Sandeep Mohapatra, J. S. Chowdary, A. Karmakar, Rashmi Kakatkar and Anant Parekh, Published in the journal ‘Climate Dynamics’, 52, April 2019, DOI:10.1007/s00382-018-4431-9.

Dr. Ananthakrishnan Award for the Best Ph.D. thesis for the year 2019 to Dr. Gangiredla Srinivas  for his thesis “Impact of Pacific and Atlantic Modes on Indian Summer Monsoon Variability and Indian Ocean Climate” under the guidance of Dr. J.S. Chowdary (IITM) and Dr K.V.S.R. Prasad, Dr. C.V. Naidu  (Andhra University, Vishakhapatnam).

The Best Student Research Paper Award for 2019 to Dr. Sujith K. for the paper “Effects of a multilayer snow scheme on the global teleconnections of the Indian summer monsoon”, published in Quarterly Journal of Royal Meteorological Society, 145, April 2019, DOI:10.1002/qj.3480, 1102-1117.

IITM Junior Research Fellow Best Student Award was given to Sumit Kumar Mukherjee (1st position) and Mr. Rakesh S. (2nd position).

IITM Excellent Performance Award for the year 2019 for the Scientific Support Staff and Administrative Staff Categories to Mrs S.R. Inamdar and Mrs M.V. Deshpande respectively.

Hindi Rajbhasha Puraskar for 2020 is jointly shared by Dr A.K. sahai and Dr Kaushar Ali.

Outstanding Performance Award for the year 2020 is jointly shared by General Administration Section, Workshop Division and Computer Division.

Felicitated Dr R. Krishnan, Dr S.De and Mr Bamble for completion of 25 years of services in IITM.

Outstanding Performance Award for the year 2020 to Mr Raju H. Shinde, BVG for his masonry work.

​Watch complete Foundation Day program at IITM YouTube:

View the citations…