News Details

IITM 60th Foundation Day Celebration-2021

Institute celebrated it's 60th Foundation Day on 17 Nov 2021 through virtual mode in view of the prevailing Pandemic situation and austerity measures.

Prof. V.K. Dadhwal, Former Director, Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST), Thiruvananthapuram was the Chief Guest of the foundation day function. 

Prof. V. Ramaswamy, Director, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory (GFDL), Princeton, USA was the Guest of Honour.

View the detailed programme of the Day

On this occasion, Dr R. Krishnan, Director-In-Charge, IITM presented the Welcome address and briefed about the Institutes' achievements and activities during the year 2021.

Dr. M. Ravichandran, Secretary, MoES presented the opening address. Prof. V.K. Dadhwal presented the Foundation Day address.

Prof. V. Ramaswamy delivered the Foundation Day lecture on "The Physics Nobel, IPCC 6th Assessment, and Unequivocal Anthropogenic Climate Change: What are the next Frontiers in Climate Science?".

IITM Awards were announced by the Director, IITM.  

Dr. Partha Mukhopadhyay Sc-F & Project Director-Monsoon Mission presented the vote of thanks.

Prof. D.R. Sikka Award Lectures were given by Mr. Ushnanshu Dutta and Mr. Panini Dasgupta

Following are the details of IITM Awards:


Mr. Ushnanshu Dutta  and Mr. Panini Dasgupta shared the Award for their respective papers.

Mr. Ushnanshu Dutta for the paper entitled “Role of convective and microphysical processes on the simulation of monsoon intraseasonal oscillation”,  published in the Climate Dynamics, 55, November 2020, DOI:10.1007/s00382-020-05387-z, 2377–2403, by Dutta U., Chaudhari H.S., Hazra A., Pokhrel S., Saha Subodh Kumar, Veeranjaneyulu C.

Mr. Panini Dasgupta for the paper entitled “Exploring the long-term changes in the Madden Julian Oscillation using machine learning”, published in the Scientific Reports, 10: 18567, October 2020, DOI:10.1038/s41598-020-75508-5, 1-13, by Dasgupta P., Metya A., Naidu C.V., Singh M., Roxy M.K.

Best Employee Award:

Smt. Swati Athale, Scientific Officer Grade – II  for her Excellent Performance in the year 2020 under the Scientific / Technical Support Staff Category.

Best Employee Award:

Smt. Bhavana Naik, Senior Executive,  for her Excellent Performance in the year 2020 under the Administrative Staff Category.

Outstanding Performance Award:

Shri. Padmakar Domutwar, Assistant Engineer (Audio Video) for his Outstanding Performance in the year 2021

Outstanding Performance Award: 

Shri. Suresh Nivalakar, Office Boy for his Outstanding Performance in the year 2021.

Outstanding Performance Award:

Shri. Krishna Gote, Housekeeping Staff for his Outstanding Performance in the year 2021.

Hindi Rajbhasha Puraskar for 2021:

Mr. Bhupendra Singh Bahadur, Scientist-D; Mrs Sunita Kharbanda, Assistant Manager; Mr. Shafi Syyed, Senior Executive; Mr. Sachin Gayakwad, Senior Executive  for their outstanding contributions for Hindi.

Complete program webcasted through IITM YouTube channel

YouTube Link (Morning Session 17 Nov 2021- 11:30 AM ) :-
YouTube Link (Afternoon Session 17 Nov 2021- 05:00 PM ) :-